Home Abortion Aids & Hiv Euthanasia Homosexuality Lebanon Natural Family Planning Contact Me   
Daily News  »
Photo Album
Arabic Church News
Arabic Church Titles
Arabic Encyclopedia
Catechism of the Catholic Church
Church History
Code of Eastern Canon Law
Code of Western Canon Law
Council for Justice and Peace
Papal Documents
Papal Encyclicals
Paths of the Spirit
Pontifical Academy for Life
The 21 Ecumenical Councils
The Catholic Encyclopedia
The Encyclopedia of Philosophy
The Fathers of the Church
The Holy Father
The II Vatican Council
The List of Popes
The Mysteries of the Rosary
Way of the Cross
Question and Answer
- Faith FAQs
Your name:
Your email:
   Subscribe Unsubscribe
Latest Posts
- LITURGY Q&A: Non-biblical Texts at Mass
- LITURGY Q&A: Special Liturgical Privileges
- ‘Handing Over’ a Mass
- LITURGY Q & A: Sign of Peace an Option
- LITURGY Q & A: Deacons and Baptisms in Extraordinary Form
- Tv Charity
- Radio Maria
- Radio Charity - Lebanon
Slide Shows & Movies
- Psalm 23
- Be United Against...
- You Are Mine
- Abortion
- Mother Teresa
- Promise
  July 2019  
Number Of Visitors:
Angelo Sodano Elected Dean of College of Cardinals
VATICAN CITY, MAY 3, 2005 (Zenit.org).- Benedict XVI approved the election of cardinals of the order of bishops and of Cardinal Angelo Sodano as dean of the College of Cardinals.

The Pope also approved the election of Cardinal Roger Etchegaray, the retired president of the Pontifical Council for Justice and Peace and the Pontifical Council "Cor Unum," as vice dean of the college, the Vatican press office said Saturday.

The College of Cardinals is divided in three orders: episcopal, presbyterial and diaconal.

Pope Paul VI established that the dean be chosen among the six cardinal bishops.

Currently, these cardinals are, in addition to Cardinals Sodano and Etchegaray, Alfonso L?pez Trujillo, president of the Pontifical Council for the Family; Bernardin Gantin, retired prefect of the Congregation for Bishops; Giovanni Battista Re, prefect of the Congregation for Bishops; and Francis Arinze, prefect of the Congregation for Divine Worship and the Sacraments.

The cardinals had met to elect a new dean, to replace Cardinal Joseph Ratzinger (now Benedict XVI), and the vice dean.